Hearts, Flowers and Organizing

Hearts, flowers and organizing


We’ve heard so often, “diamonds are a girl’s best friend.”  You set the scene for romance with jewels and flowers. So what do hearts, flowers and organizing have in common? According to the Five Love Languages and Real Simple, a lot!

What’s love got to do with it?

In the book, The Five Love Languages, Dr. Chapman shares the many ways we share and connect in love relationships.  These include acts of service, words of affirmation, quality time, physical touch, and receiving gifts.  Each of these are ways that we share connection.


Give a little gift of your heart

Acts of service is just one of these five. Acts of service are those ways you take on a responsibility for your loved one or perform an act of kindness.  These include vacuuming, doing the dishes, and routines around the house or at work. Now you can see how these two connect every day and especially at Valentine’s Day.


Families and homes have many responsibilities.  Set aside a family meeting time to discuss and assign home routines.  Be sure that there is an equitable distribution of work, hopefully assigned by preferences. Everyone hates to do dishes so work as a team to get this complete.  Together every one accomplishes more.


Words of love soft and tender

Another one of the love languages, words of affirmation, set the stage for romance. Words of affirmation are compliments, accolades and acknowledgements.


Show a little love with words of affirmation and gratitude.  Those who are washing and folding laundry, getting dinner on the table, or completing what is needed to keep you home up and running what to know you appreciate their efforts and that they are not taken for granted.  Knowing you appreciate them and their work keeps them motivated.  Share your gratitude with specific ways they are contributing to the organization, ease and energy of the house.


Love will keep us together

Quality time makes a difference. Quality time is spending meaningful time together.


Team work can be quality time.  That work together might be time with body doubling, where you are working independently in the same space, or teaming up together on the same project. No one likes to be told what to do and no one wants to work alone.  Make it fun and work together on organizing.


This Valentine’s Day, take the 5 love languages quiz and share some intimate organizing details over dinner!

4 replies
  1. Seana Turner
    Seana Turner says:

    I am a big fan of the 5 Love Languages. Once you read it and figure out what you (and your friends/family) have as your primary language, it really sticks with you. Worth the effort to speak your loved one’s language to him/her so that they feel loved, right? Also works for friends, parents, children, etc. Wishing YOU a happy Valentine’s Day Ellen!

  2. Linda Samuels
    Linda Samuels says:

    It’s been a lot of years since I read The 5 Love Languages, but I remember enjoying and learning a lot from it. It spoke to the idea that we all have different needs, ways of expressing ourselves, and ways of feeling loved. Knowing what makes your loved ones feel loved is so important. The gestures don’t have to be grand, but small things like appreciation and acknowledgment for taking out the garbage, folding laundry, or changing light bulbs go a long way in greasing the wheels of a relationship. I know the day has passed, but I wish you a Happy Belated Valentine’s Day!

  3. Ellen
    Ellen says:

    Truly knowing how to connect is what is expressed in a love language. This takes communication to a new level. Happy Valentines to you too!

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.